Stick to it!

Yesterday, I pulled out my old art supplies.  I’m not much of an artist, but when I put my mind to it, I can create something that is pretty decent looking.

I decided to draw a quick picture  of my boyfriend just to see how well I would do.  I pulled out my charcoals and started to draw away.  After about five minutes or so, I evaluated my work.  What I came up with wasn’t too bad.  I was actually kind of proud of it.  It looked (somewhat) like the picture I was trying to draw.  I immediately took a picture of it and sent it to my boyfriend.  What was his reply?  “Who’s that?”  When he said that, I decided to rip up the picture and put my supplies away.  When I explained to him that I was testing out my art skills, and decided to draw him, he insisted that we knew it was a picture of him but he wasn’t sure.

After I threw that drawing away, I instantly regretted that action.  If I could make a drawing to look somewhat like my boyfriend after only five minutes of working on it, I did a pretty good job.  I may be out of practice but I did well.  I’ve decided that I’m going to start working on my art and hopefully share some of my final products on this blog.

So what is my tip of the day?  Don’t let yourself feel discouraged!

Leave a Reply

