When do you throw in the towel?

How do you know when to throw in the towel?  When is enough…enough?

For the past three and a half weeks, I have been waiting to hear whether or not I have been hired for a job I interviewed for.  I was assured that I would be told whether or not I got the job in about two weeks!

Since then, I haven’t been looking as actively for a job as I had been before the interview.  I was pretty sure that I had gotten the job for two reasons:  there was more than one position available and I had yet to be rejected.

Now I sit here, uncomfortable as pregnant woman who is almost two weeks overdue wondering what to do!  I have emailed two people at the company regarding my situation.  I have yet to call.  Why haven’t I called?  Well, I am afraid of being rejected over the phone!  I would rather read it in a cold email.

Today, I decided to throw in the towel.  I am not waiting to hear from them any more.  If I do hear from them, that would be great, and I would gladly accept the job.  However, since I have yet to hear from them–I have gone back to applying to several jobs a day.

What is my count for today?  It is early afternoon here in California, and I have already applied to five jobs!  That is pretty great I think.

For the rest of the day, I might update my blog some more or just start on some of the ideas that I’ve had for my Etsy shop — and apply for some more jobs in the evening.

What is the lesson for today?  Know when to hold’em and know when to fold’em, people!  Thank you, Kenny Rogers!

Leave a Reply

