Phone Interviews

Phone interviews are amazing!  I didn’t even have to dress up in my business attire to do this interview.  I sat on my comfy bed wearing my warm pajamas wondering if I should paint my toe nails.

I know that some people think that phone interviews are horrible for some of the following reasons:

  • I can’t see the interviewer’s face therefore, I cannot gauge whether or not the interview is going well.
  • I don’t know what to do if there is a brief moment of silence….Awkward!
  • I don’t know what to do to ensure the interview that I am still engaged in the interview, or to see if they are still listening to me!

Well, first off, even when you are having a face-to-face interview, it is difficult to gauge the interviewer if they have a good poker face.  Their tone is important.  When you cannot see a person’s face, you tend to pick up so much more about the, based on how their voice changes throughout the call.  This will help you figure out whether or not they are still interested in you.  Brief moments of silence don’t bother me too much.  The interviewer, at times, will need to regroup to figure out what else they need to ask or discuss with you–but if there is a whole minute of silence, there might be a problem!  Make sure that you ask relevant questions to the interviewer to show that you are paying attention and are interested in the job.  If the interviewer is still talking to you, and actively asking you questions–they are still engaged in the interview.

My interview this morning went well.  It lasted about 30 minutes, and at times, it seemed to be a delightful conversation.  The interviewer informed me that I would be moving on to the second round of interviews…and that just made my day!  I look forward to them, and I hope I get this job.  It seems like it would be a great fit for me in terms of my career goals.

Tip of the day:

Stay positive!  Phone interviews are not that horrible.  You should feel more at ease since you will be choosing the place where the interview will take place.

I’ll keep you updated on my progress!

Leave a Reply

